Compensation at Shine Lawyers Compensation at Shine Lawyers

Board of directors

Tony Bellas

Tony Bellas

Independent Chairman and Non-Executive Director

Tony joined Shine in 2013 as Independent Non-executive Chairman.

Prior to joining the Board, Tony was an experienced senior executive in the public and private sectors and held roles including Chief Executive Officer of Seymour Group, Ergon Energy Corporation Limited and CS Energy Limited. Tony also had a distinguished career with Queensland Treasury where he reached the position of Deputy Under Treasurer and had oversight of operations including Fiscal Strategy, Office of Government Owned Corporations and Office of State Revenue.

In addition to his role as Chairman of the Board, Tony holds special responsibilities as Chairman of the Nomination & Remuneration Committee and member of the Audit & Risk Management Committee.

Other Australian listed company directorships held in the past three years:

  • Novonix Limited (August 2015 – present),
  • Corporate Travel Management Limited (June 2010 – March 2019),
  • ERM Power Limited (December 2009 – February 2019),
  • State Gas Limited (June 2017 – present; listed October 2017) and
  • IntelliHR Holdings Limited (February 2017 – present; listed January 2018).

Carolyn Barker AM

BBus, MBA, FAIM (Life Member)
Non-Executive Director

Carolyn joined Shine Lawyers in 2009 and was appointed to the Shine Board as a Non-executive Director in 2013 on listing of the Company on ASX.

Carolyn is a professional Non-executive director. She is Chair of Brisbane City Council’s Transport for Brisbane Advisory Board and the MiTraining Board, a not for profit training company and a member of BCC’s Audit Committee and the Board of MIGAS Pty Ltd.

Carolyn has over 25 years of C-level executive experience, including Executive Director of the ANZ Higher Education Division of a globally owned private higher education company, Chief Executive of the Australian Institute of Management and founder/Managing Director of The Cyber Institute Pty Ltd, an early innovator in online learning in Australia. She received her Order of Australia for services to Management Education.

Carolyn’s contribution to the Board includes a thorough understanding of executive management and general commercial, strategic marketing, people and culture skills. She has expertise in compliance management, policy formulation and stakeholder management and a special interest in digital technologies, digital disruption and innovation.

Special responsibilities include member of the Nomination & Remuneration Committee and the Audit & Risk Management Committee.

Other Australian listed company directorships held in the past three years: None other than Shine

Greg Moynihan

Greg Moynihan

BCom, Grad Dip SIA, CPA, SFFin, MAICD
Non-Executive Director

Greg joined the Board in 2013 as a Non-executive Director.

Greg is a former Chief Executive Officer of Metway Bank Limited and has held senior executive positions with Citibank Australia and Suncorp-Metway over a range of disciplines including financial and capital management, investment management and corporate strategy.

Greg has served as a non-executive director of various public companies (listed and unlisted) and is currently a non-executive director of Corporate Travel Management Limited and chairman of several private companies.

Special responsibilities held include Chairman of the Audit & Risk Management Committee and member of the Nomination & Remuneration Committee.

Other Australian listed company directorships held in the past three years:

  • Corporate Travel Management Limited (June 2010 – present)
Simon Morrison

Simon Morrison

Managing Director

Simon became the Managing Director of Shine in 2012, having joined Shine Lawyers in 1988 and having become a partner of the firm in 1995.

Simon is a former National President of the Australian Lawyers’ Alliance (ALA) and chaired the ALA’s National Workers Compensation Special Interest Group and sits on the Board of Governors of the American Association of Justice. Simon has particular expertise in and is an acknowledged leader in workers’ compensation and is a Queensland Law Society Accredited Specialist in personal injury law. He has given evidence at numerous government inquiries, has assisted in drafting legislation and is a regular speaker at national and state conferences in this field.

Simon contributes skills and expertise to the Board including executive management of a listed company, strategy, industry experience, strategic marketing, and policy, regulation and stakeholder management.

Special responsibilities held include Managing Director. Simon has a standing invitation to attend meetings of the Board’s Committees, but he does not participate in any discussions in relation to his own remuneration.

Other Australian listed company directorships held in the past three years: None other than Shine.

Annette O'Hara

Annette O'Hara

Company Secretary & General Counsel

Annette joined the Group in August 2016 as Senior Legal Counsel and was appointed General Counsel and Company Secretary in February 2017. Previously, Annette had extensive experience as a senior corporate lawyer at national law firm Corrs Chambers Westgarth, advising a wide range of listed and unlisted companies in relation to regulatory, governance and general commercial matters.